RSS

Long time no post…

06 Dec

Wow, has it really been that long since I posted anything on here? Oh well, other than work (and then work, followed by more work) there’s been little for me to post about recently.

Until now.

Finally, some ten years after I bought my little one bedroom bungalow I have actually gotten around to selling it. Woohoo. Incredibly, it was sold within a week of being put on the market, which kind of irks me given the fees charged by the estate agents to sell the house. Or perhaps I’m looking at it the wrong way and should just consider it money well spent.

I don’t want to go into to many details about my new house, given that contracts have yet to be exchanged and there is still time for everything to go belly up, however, I’m hopeful that I will be moved early in the new year. Three bedrooms ftw! And stairs! And a downstairs loo!! And a rather large mortgage. Meh.

I must admit, I’m actually very sad at the thought of leaving my current bungalow. When I look back at the original particulars from when I bought it all those years ago, I must admit my ugly little bungalow looks pretty nice now. Gone are the nasty, drafty, dark brown wooden windows and doors, replaced with new UPVC double glazing. Gone is the flimsy old fencing, replaced by a (bloody expensive) sturdy fence hand built by me & my Dad. Comparing the inside shows marked improvements as well, especially the kitchen which Dad & I replaced a few years ago and the recently redecorated lounge.

Ten years is a long time to build memories in a home. I’ve laughed, cried, shaken my fist, cursed noisy neighbours, learnt to cook real food, fallen in love from afar, and even survived a tornado that ripped the roof off of nearby houses (that was a bloody sleepless night, let me tell you!)

One thing I won’t miss though is the jets. Despite being somewhat diminished by the double glazing, and despite still being very impressive when you see them taking off from close up, the sound of jets taking off a few miles away when you’re trying to sleep, or trying to watch TV in the evening, or even, god forbid, hold a conversation, has grown tiresome. Yes, the RAF do a fantastic job protecting us from the scum of the world. Doesn’t mean I have to enjoy living near them! I also shan’t miss being woken up at 5am by my silly sod of a neighbour who seems to find it quite normal to sing at the top of his voice early in the morning. Dude…there are people trying to sleep!

Once the process has moved on a little bit and contracts are safely out of the way, I shall post some before and after pics of my old bungalow, as well as a couple of pics of my new place. Until then, it’s back to work for me…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 6, 2012 in House & Home

 

Add Comment

 
