RSS

Jupiter (At Last)

19 Aug

After seeing Saturn a few weeks ago, I’ve been looking forward to capturing a shot of Jupiter. Unfortunately, from where I am located with my garden facing pretty much due north, I’ve not been able to see Jupiter as it would have meant climbing out of bed at half three in the morning. Night after night of heavy cloud haven’t exactly helped matters.

Well, tonight was a pretty clear evening, so I made the effort to stay up as Jupiter was due to be in my line of sight in the early hours. Although I haven’t been able to capture any detail in the photos (I wasn’t really able to make out any detail, even when viewed through my highest power lens), the photos I took with my Canon 110D clearly show the planet and three of its moons. A cropped copy of one of the photos is shown below. I just need to figure out what settings to use in future to capture the most amount of detail possible.

For those who like knowing this kind of stuff, Jupiter’s volume is that of about 1,321 Earths and it has at least 66 moons, including the four large moons called the Galilean moons, three of which are in the photo below.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 19, 2012 in Astronomy, Photography

 

Add Comment

 
