RSS

Last Nights Moon

28 May

As the weather has turned nice and the sky was clear last night, I spent an hour or so in my garden last night looking skyward.

While there weren’t as many stars out last night, the moon was clear and bright in the sky, so I grabbed my camera and took a few shots. I’m still trying to get the hang of this though so sadly most shots were out of focus, or cut off any interesting bits!

This one is probably the best of the bunch from last night which (if I’m reading my moon maps correctly!) clearly show the Seas of Serenity, Tranquillity, Fertility, as well as the smaller Seas of Nectar and Crisis. You can also clearly make out a large number of the craters that litter the moon’s surface. As always, click the image to see the full sized picture.

I actually remembered to attach my moon filter this time, which did make a surprising difference to the level of detail I could pick out. Unfortunately I haven’t yet found a way to take photos through the telescope with the moon filter attached!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 28, 2012 in Astronomy, Photography

 

Add Comment

 
