RSS

First shots of the moon. Meh.

24 Apr

Tonight we finally had a clear enough sky to be able to see the moon, so I dragged out my telescope, a handful of lenses and my Canon camera, and spent 15 minutes trying to get a decent shot.

And the results? Well, when viewed through the scope, the picture is indeed impressive, with all of the moons various crater impact sites clearly visible. Unfortunately, I had a few issues getting the camera to focus through the telescope, and the lack of a tripod meant the shots I took were prone to camera wobble due to the flash being turned off.

This shot was taken using ISO 100, shutter speed 1/200 and flash disabled, with a 2x Barlow lens in the telescope:

Moon shot on 24th April 2012 at approximately 10pm

This next shot was taken accidentally using automatic settings. The flash went off, which for some reason, turned the moon a rather attractive orange colour!

Nevertheless, for a first attempt, I’m not overly disheartened as I’m sure with a bit of practice (and a full moon), I’ll be getting much better images.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 24, 2012 in Astronomy, Photography

 

One response to “First shots of the moon. Meh.

  1. heyesphoto

    April 24, 2012 at 9:44 pm

    I managed to get a decent shot of the moon with just a 200mm lens on a 15mp crop body (equivalent focal length 320mm) plus a bit of cropping. I was quite surprised at the detail. You definitely need a sturdy tripod, though.

     

Add Comment

 
