RSS

Windows 7 Motherboard/Processor Upgrade

22 Mar

I recently purchased a new motherboard, processor and extra memory to upgrade my Windows 7 PC. While the PC generally runs ok, the processor seems to spike quite easily and I wanted to upgrade to a faster Athlon II quad core processor. As the processor fits an AM3 socket, this required a new motherboard since my old motherboard had an AM2 socket which was not compatible with the newer processor. This in turn required an upgrade to DDR3 RAM, so I took the opportunity to upgrade to 4Gb.

Even though both motherboards were from ASUS, having done plenty of motherboard upgrades in the past I was fully expecting to have to re-install Windows from scratch, or at the very least, spend hours doing repairs/installing drivers before giving up and fully installing Windows from scratch.

Imagine my surprise, then, when the Windows 7 installation on my old SATA hard drive not only booted up from the new motherboard, but did so without blue screening, proceeded to install all of the drivers automatically, and is now sitting humming to itself in the corner.

I am surprised (to say the least). Just when it seems that Windows 7 has shown me all of its party tricks, it pops another one out from up its sleeve. My Windows Experience index for processor and RAM has gone from 4.9 and 5.1 to 7.3 and 7.3 respectively. Unfortunately, my graphics card now lets the side down, so last night I put in my order for a 1Gb Sapphire Vapor-X HD5770 which, from the reviews I’ve read (and the pic below), looks quite impressive.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 22, 2011 in Computers

 

Add Comment

 
