RSS

Lakenheath Is Bombing Your Ass

20 Mar

As someone who gets sick and tired of having to listen to RAF jets doing practice flights in the evenings (hey, I’ve had a long day at work, I just want to relax in the comfort of my own home and, gasp, maybe have my windows open), I have to admit that whenever I see one of the jets flying close up as I drive by the base, I get goosebumps and all the hair on the back of my neck stands up. They are some of the most beautiful machines I have ever seen, and I take my hat off to all of the pilots and engineers who keep them in the air.

Last night, we heard several planes taking off, presumably destined for Libya, which prompted me to do a bit of googling which turned up this video. For anyone who doubts how loud these planes are, watch this with your speakers up high.

Bring the pilots back in one piece girls.

Update: One of the F15’s from Lakenheath met an untimely end when it crashed in Libya. Reports say that it crashed due to mechanical failure and was not shot down.

Thankfully both pilots survived with only minor injuries, nevertheless, a sad end for what was an exceptional machine.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 20, 2011 in General

 

Add Comment

 
