RSS

Old Queue Jumpers

22 Dec

I don’t like following up a ranty post with another rant so quickly, as it makes me look like a bit of a ranter. Nevertheless, today I feel the need to rant about old people pushing in queues…

What is it about old people that makes them think they don’t have to queue? I was in Tesco’s today and, as is usual for this time of year, the queue’s were ridiculously long. Of course, this wasn’t helped by the fact that half of the self service machines were out of action, but that’s a rant for another time :0).

Anywho, I dutifully joined said queue, clutching my chicken sandwich and bottle of juice. Within moments, there were at least a dozen people behind me, and we all commenced the Tesco shuffle, inching ever closer to the checkout and freedom from the mad throng of people panic-buying their bread and milk to see them through the Christmas period.

At this point, an old bloke and his (presumably) wife wandered up, took one look at the queue (which now spanned the width of several aisles), took one look at me, then without so much as a mumbled excuse, just blatantly pushed in. It wasn’t like there could be any misunderstanding as to where the end of the queue actually was. There was the person in front of me, then me, then the person behind me, then everyone else behind them all standing in a line. I’m not a scholar of the English language, but I think you’ll agree that is the definition of a queue.

So there they were, two old folks pretending like they didn’t know I was standing inches behind them, burning holes in their head with my furious glare. Then the bloke turned around and, I kid you not, glared back at me. I mean, wtf? Was he cross because I (and what now seemed like the two hundred others behind me) hadn’t shuffled back to politely let him push in? If he’d wanted personal space, there was plenty to be found at the end of the queue where he belonged.

I am all for treating my elders with respect, but there’s a line between showing respect and letting them take the piss, and they crossed that line by quite a distance. Can you imagine the fuss they’d have made if I had done that to them?!

Oh well, I guess one day I’ll be old too and will get to enjoy these perks. Until then, loyal reader, have a very good Christmas. Unless you’re an old queue jumper too, then I hope you choke on a sprout >:o(~

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 22, 2010 in Rant

 

Add Comment

 
