RSS

70-640…Done.

23 Aug

Following some late night cramming yesterday, this morning I headed off to my local Prometric center to sit my latest exam, Configuring Windows 2008 Active Directory, aka 70-640.

Aside from playing around with a couple of VM images a couple of weeks ago, and reading through the Microsoft Press book, I had done relatively little to prepare for this exam. I was especially weak in Certificate Services and Federation Services, having not really had any hands on experience with either technology. I was considering post-poning the exam until I could get some more hands-on time under my belt, but in the end decided to bite the bullet.

This is the first exam I’ve done for a while which I’ve come away from feeling physically exhausted! I passed with a respectable 820, although I’m not entirely sure how as many of my answers were … well, lets call them educated guesses.

Anyone sitting this exam should make sure they’re intimately aware of the ins and outs of Certificate Services, Federation Services and Group Policy. I also had several questions on disaster recovery, permission delegation and DNS. Actually, thinking back, the questions seem to cover pretty much every area in the syllabus. One upside I found was that there wasn’t as much command line or powershell stuff as I was expecting.

In hindsight, 9:30 on a Monday morning is not a good time for an exam!!

So glad this one’s behind me, I think I’ll take a week or two off before starting on my next one, 70-642 Configuring Windows Server 2008 Network Infrastructure.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 23, 2010 in Exams

 

Add Comment

 
