RSS

Why, Symantec? Why?

10 Jul

I sit here now, on the server room floor, laptop in hand wondering what it was I ever did to Symantec to make them hate me so.

As readers of my blog will know, I am in the process of upgrading Active Directory at work. Having made the decision a while ago to install Symantec Endpoint Protection on all servers (including the domain controllers), I had to factor that in when planning for the upgrade. Anyone who works in IT will tell you it is generally best practice to disable antivirus before you install software. For 99.9% of the time, leaving antivirus won’t cause any problems during an install, however, knowing my luck, my domain controller upgrades would fall into the 0.1% that goes catastrophically wrong when the antivirus software is left to its own devices.

Today is the day that I upgrade our first domain controller, so I diligently open the antivirus software, and untick the box that says “disable realtime scan”. There, job done. Or so I thought. Skip forward a few minutes, just enough time for me to run a few last minute checks to make sure everything is looking ok before I begin when I happen to notice the little antivirus icon in the corner turn green. Yes, the antivirus software had decided that actually, it’s probably best if it turns itself back on because, after all, what do I know. I’m just the lowly sysadmin who has to pick up the pieces when antivirus makes things break.

A quick trip to services.msc and Symantec EPS is now well and truly disabled. All I can do now is sit and watch the new OS load itself on, and hope that the antivirus doesn’t somehow find a way to come to life and make my weekend a living hell!

Update: Well the upgrade appears to have gone as smoothly as I could hope. I had a bit of a shock this morning though, when I realised that one of my colleagues had decided to send out a mass mailing this weekend without informing me, despite the fact I wanted minimal email traffic until I’ve made sure my postfix/AD integration was holding up ok. Bloody junior manager-wannabes, always thinking they’re above the people actually running the systems that they rely on.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 10, 2010 in Work

 

Add Comment

 
