RSS

70-680 Configuring Windows 7

28 Jun

Today I sat 70-680 (Configuring Windows 7), which is my first Microsoft exam since, well, all the Windows 2000 ones I guess.

I’d spent quite a bit of time reading the official Microsoft study guide, and equal amounts of time getting hands on experience with Windows 7 in preparation for this exam. Even though I have had a lot of practical experience with OS’es since Win2000, I was still nervous about actually sitting this one, as there are a lot of new topics ripe for examination, included a lot of command line stuff (not that I mind that, being a Linux fan-boy!).

Having postponed the exam once, I finally sat it this afternoon and passed with a score of 833. Many of the 50 questions seemed to test skills I would consider to be very basic, such as looking at a network diagram and deciding what you should set as the default gateway for a given PC. There were a few questions that made me think, mainly because they covered topics I’m not well versed in yet (such as IPv6), but on the whole, this was a very basic exam. While there were a few questions on system deployment, there was only one that dealt with the dism.exe command.

Oh well, heres hoping that the Server 2008 exams pose a bit more of a challenge!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 28, 2010 in Exams

 

Add Comment

 
