RSS

Pre-Exam Thoughts on the UCP

26 Jan

Having run out of reasons why I can put off booking my Ubuntu Certified Professional exam any longer, I finally made an appointment at my local training center to sit the exam.

I have to say, I’m a little nervous about this one. Not because I’m expecting the exam material to be particularly tricky. It’s just that the objectives cover quite a wide area, and there is a lot (and I mean a lot) of potential for nasty little questions. The sorts of questions that would have any sysadmin reaching for the man pages just to double check the exact syntax of the command switches.

Unfortunately, the number of questions on the exam also seems quite low. While you might think that’s a good thing (who wants to sit a really long exam, right?), it does mean that if I get several questions on areas I’m not so strong on, it could have quite a large negative impact on my overall score. At least with a higher number of questions, I’d stand a better chance of ironing out any bumps caused by a few bad questions!

The other thing that’s concerning me is that I’m still not entirely sure which Ubuntu the exam is actually based on. I’ve installed and used every release since 6.06, the book I’ve been studying from uses version 7.04 and the latest version is 9.10. Given that there are various differences between each release, such as commands disappearing or appearing, updated GUI tools, syntax changes etc, it’d be nice to know that the exam focuses on one specific version of Ubuntu. I’ve worked my way through the objectives (several times), but they are quite vague so I often find myself unsure of how far into a given area I should be reading.

Oh well, things could be worse. I could be preparing to sit a Microsoft exam armed only with a fundamental lack of knowledge about the exam topic (good luck with that Chris!).

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 26, 2010 in Exams

 

Add Comment

 
